Latest Posts

Topic: Reply with Opera

Vassili
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-12, 19:19
Posts: 169
Ranking
At home in WL-forums
Location: France
Posted at: 2016-09-01, 21:22

Using Opera version 39.0.2256.48 (the latest) on Windows 7 64-bit (WoW64), i can not reply on forum, the page load but no textarea is shown.


Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1523
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2016-09-01, 21:54

I have checked the code with the w3c html validator and it shows 1 warning (missing lang=en attribute) and one error (related to an wrong br-tag in the copyright at the bottom). So i am not sure what to look for to solve this. My guess is some html5 related things which this website doesn't provide.


Opera before version 3.x was my preferred browser. Since the old version does not work on some pages anymore i switched to firefox but i miss the old opera face-crying.png It was so intuitive to work with...


Top Quote
Vassili
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-12, 19:19
Posts: 169
Ranking
At home in WL-forums
Location: France
Posted at: 2016-09-02, 01:25

You say this website does not use HTML5?

So why the code say he is (<!DOCTYPE html>) ?


Top Quote
SirVer
Joined: 2009-02-19, 15:18
Posts: 1438
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany - Munich
Posted at: 2016-09-02, 07:23

You say this website does not use HTML5?

No, that is not what he said :).


Top Quote
Vassili
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-12, 19:19
Posts: 169
Ranking
At home in WL-forums
Location: France
Posted at: 2016-09-02, 07:39

So can you please use other terms for say "My guess is some html5 related things which this website doesn't provide"? I understand that he said widelands.org does not provide/use HTML5.

Or he was speaking of the w3c shitty website?


Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1523
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2016-09-02, 09:12

widelands.org does not use any of the new introduced html5 tags. So i want to say that Opera may rely on some of them, but i ma not sure.

If the html validator from w3c is 'shitty', can you give me another tool to validate our html?


Top Quote
Vassili
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-12, 19:19
Posts: 169
Ranking
At home in WL-forums
Location: France
Posted at: 2016-09-02, 10:26

Let me inform again that your doctype is an HTML5 doctype. So if you do not use HTML5 tags, why declare your page as HTML5?

I do not know validators, i only know whatever you do, the W3C always found it's an error. (and the W3C is against internet, it's not composed of people like you and me (but by some microsoft, google, apple,etc.), and promote DRM like in HTML5.


Top Quote
Tino
Joined: 2009-02-20, 17:05
Posts: 246
Ranking
Widelands-Forum-Junkie
Location: Somewhere in Germany...
Posted at: 2016-09-02, 11:33

This answer was brought to you by Opera:

Versionsinformation

Version: 39.0.2256.48 - Auf Updates prüfen...

Update-Stream: Stable

Betriebssystem: Windows 10 64-bit (WoW64)

Browser-Identifikation

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; WOW64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/52.0.2743.82 Safari/537.36 OPR/39.0.2256.48

Hm, no, no problems here.

Edited: 2016-09-02, 11:37
Top Quote
freem
Joined: 2012-07-03, 08:25
Posts: 26
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2016-09-02, 15:14

Vassili wrote:

Using Opera version 39.0.2256.48 (the latest) on Windows 7 64-bit (WoW64), i can not reply on forum, the page load but no textarea is shown.

Did you check that it's not simply out of screen? What I have on vivaldi (based on chrome, like many other browsers, and far more like what opera was before they switched to chrome's rendering engine) is that there is a very huge "blank" area, and the input box is below. At least, it's what I have when clicking on quote or edit. Quick replies does not have that problem.

About the validator... sure, it's not easy to have it not complain, but when it does, or at least when there are no errors, then things should work on all non-buggy browsers. Imo, it's good that there is a tool which is very strict. (I wish C/C++ compilers were, it would avoid lot of stupid debugging. I should really give some time to rust...)

Edited: 2016-09-02, 15:18
Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1523
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2016-09-02, 20:02

Vassili wrote:

Let me inform again that your doctype is an HTML5 doctype. So if you do not use HTML5 tags, why declare your page as HTML5?

This decision was made before i entered the team and start working on the website code. Anyway, the question is: Why shouldn't we use this declaration?

If you think this is wrong, you are invited to create a bug report containing the reasons to change the doctype.


Top Quote