Donation

Help us to pay our server!
(: Consider a donation :)



Social Media

  • Facebook
  • Google+

Latest Posts

Topic: Regression: Empire Ai failure

Forums » Player Forums » Technical Help » Regression: Empire Ai failure



Tibor
Joined: 2009-03-23, 23:24
Posts: 799
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Slovakia
Posted at: 2017-05-08, 19:54

Also reachability can be split into two things:

  • ability to build a road there
  • ability to send soldiers there

Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 1806
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2017-05-09, 08:02

Maybe periodically check if construction sites without workers are reachable,? This still makes the AI a bit stupid by building first and then tearing down, but it would mean less checks.


Top Quote
Tibor
Joined: 2009-03-23, 23:24
Posts: 799
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Slovakia
Posted at: 2017-05-09, 11:50

There is a code that tries to connect each economy (this includes alone constructionsites) without a warehouse to an economy with a warehouse. So such constructionsite will not last long... Suboptimal, but better then nothing...


Top Quote
PkK
Joined: 2012-01-06, 12:19
Posts: 153
Ranking
At home in WL-forums
Posted at: 2017-05-09, 18:02

Tibor wrote:

Also AI does not expand territory if a militarysites close to enemy are needed.

Maybe this should change. If there are enough soldiers available, I think it would be reasonable to continue territory expansion besides building military sites near the enemy.

Philipp


Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 1806
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2017-05-09, 19:16

Tibor wrote:

There is a code that tries to connect each economy (this includes alone constructionsites) without a warehouse to an economy with a warehouse. So such constructionsite will not last long... Suboptimal, but better then nothing...

That sounds reasonable. Does the AI immediately search for an alternative site? I guess we could have a full connectivity test then, since it should happen less often. Of course, I am making just an assumption here.


Top Quote
Tibor
Joined: 2009-03-23, 23:24
Posts: 799
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Slovakia
Posted at: 2017-05-09, 19:30

PkK wrote:

Tibor wrote:

Also AI does not expand territory if a militarysites close to enemy are needed.

Maybe this should change. If there are enough soldiers available, I think it would be reasonable to continue territory expansion besides building military sites near the enemy.

Philipp

The code is completely reworked in my branch, so it will probably behave differently...

Edited: 2017-05-09, 19:31
Top Quote
Tibor
Joined: 2009-03-23, 23:24
Posts: 799
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Slovakia
Posted at: 2017-05-09, 19:34

GunChleoc wrote:

Tibor wrote:

There is a code that tries to connect each economy (this includes alone constructionsites) without a warehouse to an economy with a warehouse. So such constructionsite will not last long... Suboptimal, but better then nothing...

That sounds reasonable. Does the AI immediately search for an alternative site?

Yes, the building (especially productionsite) is still needed, so it will try to place it elsewhere. With militarysites it is bit more complicated, because their placing is dependent on vicinity...


Top Quote