Latest Posts

Topic: Mouse cursor disappears on start

Kurlingo2000
Avatar
Joined: 2017-11-22, 23:53
Posts: 4
Ranking
Just found this site
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posted at: 2017-11-23, 00:01

Hi there,

I've been playing Widelands Build 18 since a couple of months happily, and recently noticed there is a new version around.

After having installed this one on my very old (2006?) LeNovo-Laptop and done the start, the usual start screen appeared in a window. Moving my mouse cursor into the window made it disappear. I could still select menu topics, however you may guess how much fun it is without seeing the cursor (and how much time it takes),

The mouse is a standard HP cable mouse without fancies. The graphic card is an on-board one from the ol' days; please tell me which info you need and where to find it. I have played the de-installing and re-installing game a lot already. Build 18 worked without any hassle. Also, I have tried various variants regarding screen resolution on both the game and on the system.

Anyone got an idea how to solve this? Thanks in advance and BTW: great game face-smile.png

I am on Windows 7 Pro Service Pack 1 and had installed Widelands-_widelands_dev_widelands_tribe_basic_info-2630-Release-x86.exe.

Kurlingo

Edited: 2017-11-23, 00:25
Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 2626
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2017-11-23, 06:54

Hi Kurlingo,

welcome to the forum!

Maybe your graphics card can't handle Build 19, because we modernized the graphics implementation. This gives us both speed and cleaner code, but it sadly does leave some older systems behind where the graphics drivers haven't been updated.

Can you check if there is a stdout.txt file? It might give us some information.

https://wl.widelands.org/wiki/How%20to%20Write%20a%20Good%20Bug%20Report/#5b-microsoft-operating-systems


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
Kurlingo2000
Avatar
Joined: 2017-11-22, 23:53
Posts: 4
Ranking
Just found this site
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posted at: 2017-11-23, 11:43

GunChleoc wrote:

Hi Kurlingo,

welcome to the forum!

Maybe your graphics card can't handle Build 19, because we modernized the graphics implementation. This gives us both speed and cleaner code, but it sadly does leave some older systems behind where the graphics drivers haven't been updated.

Can you check if there is a stdout.txt file? It might give us some information.

https://wl.widelands.org/wiki/How%20to%20Write%20a%20Good%20Bug%20Report/#5b-microsoft-operating-systems

Hi GunChleoc,

thanks for the reply; here comes my stdout.txt-file:


This is Widelands Version _widelands_dev_widelands_tribe_basic_info-2630_Release_x86 (Release)
Set home directory: C:\Users\xxx\.widelands
Widelands executable directory: C:\bin\Widelands
Adding directory: C:\bin\Widelands\data
selected language: (system language)
Graphics: Try to set Videomode 800x600
Graphics: OpenGL: Version "2.1.0 - Build 8.15.10.2555"
Graphics: SDL_GL_RED_SIZE is 8
Graphics: SDL_GL_GREEN_SIZE is 8
Graphics: SDL_GL_BLUE_SIZE is 8
Graphics: SDL_GL_ALPHA_SIZE is 8
Graphics: SDL_GL_BUFFER_SIZE is 32
Graphics: SDL_GL_DOUBLEBUFFER is 1
Graphics: SDL_GL_DEPTH_SIZE is 16
Graphics: SDL_GL_STENCIL_SIZE is 0
Graphics: SDL_GL_ACCUM_RED_SIZE is 16
Graphics: SDL_GL_ACCUM_GREEN_SIZE is 16
Graphics: SDL_GL_ACCUM_BLUE_SIZE is 16
Graphics: SDL_GL_ACCUM_ALPHA_SIZE is 16
Graphics: SDL_GL_STEREO is 0
Graphics: SDL_GL_MULTISAMPLEBUFFERS is 0
Graphics: SDL_GL_MULTISAMPLESAMPLES is 1
Graphics: SDL_GL_ACCELERATED_VISUAL is 1
Graphics: SDL_GL_CONTEXT_MAJOR_VERSION is 2
Graphics: SDL_GL_CONTEXT_MINOR_VERSION is 1
Graphics: SDL_GL_CONTEXT_FLAGS is 0
Graphics: SDL_GL_CONTEXT_PROFILE_MASK is 2
Graphics: SDL_GL_SHARE_WITH_CURRENT_CONTEXT is 0
Graphics: SDL_GL_FRAMEBUFFER_SRGB_CAPABLE is 0
Graphics: OpenGL: Double buffering enabled
Graphics: OpenGL: Max texture size: 4096
Graphics: OpenGL: ShadingLanguage: "1.20  - Intel Build 8.15.10.2555"
**** GRAPHICS REPORT ****
 VIDEO DRIVER windows
 pixel fmt 370546692
 size 800 600
**** END GRAPHICS REPORT ****
[] Section [global], key 'ai_training' not used (did you spell the name correctly?)
[] Section [global], key 'auto_speed' not used (did you spell the name correctly?)
SoundHandler closing times 1, freq 44100, format 33056, chan 2
SDL_AUDIODRIVER wasapi

Thanks again,

Kurlingo

Edited by kaputtnik: Codeblock formatting

Edited: 2017-11-23, 14:26
Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 2626
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2017-11-23, 21:40

Hm, our documentation says "OpenGL version 2.1 or higher", so your setup should be fine. Your texture cache is also big enough.


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
Kurlingo2000
Avatar
Joined: 2017-11-22, 23:53
Posts: 4
Ranking
Just found this site
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posted at: 2017-11-23, 22:12

GunChleoc wrote:

Hm, our documentation says "OpenGL version 2.1 or higher", so your setup should be fine. Your texture cache is also big enough.

Thanks for your reply, which, however, still wouldn' let me play the game.

Maybe any noob-advice I oversaw? Any other report that might give some hint? Thanks,

Kurlingo


Top Quote
SirVer
Joined: 2009-02-19, 15:18
Posts: 1438
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany - Munich
Posted at: 2017-11-24, 09:19

Welcome to the forum Kurlingo2000!

My gut feeling is that you are out of luck :(. The arguments are these:

  • This is a singular bug that was not reported before. However, the mouse cursor not being visible would be reported as it basically makes the game unplayable - so I think the bug is super rare.
  • This is a old integrated intel chipset. We know from experience that Intel's graphic drivers are notoriously buggy, in fact most windows bugs about graphics that have been reported in the last few months have been on intel chipsets.

The only two things I can suggest doing are

constructive: try updating your graphics drivers and see if that fixes it, explorative: try other SDL based games like Battle for Wesnoth and see if the cursor vanishes there too.

You could also uninstall b19 and reinstall b18 to continue playing that.


Top Quote
Kurlingo2000
Avatar
Joined: 2017-11-22, 23:53
Posts: 4
Ranking
Just found this site
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posted at: 2017-11-24, 20:21

Hi SirVer,

Thanks for the reply. Well, I had the same feeling too (especially because of your first point).

I installed Build18 today and found some comfort over this by playing one round face-smile.png Anyway thanks for the support, I feel I shouldn't cry about this when using this stone-age computer.

Regards,

Kurlingo


Top Quote
unclouded
Avatar
Joined: 2018-08-18, 05:16
Posts: 1
Ranking
Just found this site
Posted at: 2018-08-18, 05:21

Hi, unsure if this is related but I had an extremely slow mouse and it was solved by starting Widelands like this:

SDL_VIDEO_X11_DGAMOUSE=1 /usr/games/widelands

Build 19 on Ubuntu 14.04, 800x600 windowed


Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 2626
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2018-08-20, 10:29

Thanks for the info - I have added it to our FAQ https://wl.widelands.org/wiki/Technical%20FAQ/#my-mouse-is-extremely-slow-on-linux


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1523
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2018-08-20, 11:42

The FAQs needs a general rework, imho. They contain a lot of outdated information. These pages should also be linked from the websites "Main menu -> The Game".


Top Quote