Donation

Help us to pay our server!
(: Consider a donation :)



Social Media

  • Facebook
  • Google+

Latest Posts

Topic: Barbarian trainer

LeightonMan
Avatar
Joined: 2017-05-19, 15:17
Posts: 34
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2017-10-27, 17:59
Hi, I played a game using the Swamp island map. Early on I built a Barracks. Considerably later I built a battle arena and a training camp. After an hour or so of play, the training camp and battle arena remained unoccupied. Clicking on the workers tab showed "vacant". for both.
I demolished the Barracks and immediately the battle arena changed to "Coming" . A few minutes later both the battle arena and training camp were occupied so I rebuilt the barracks which was immediately occupied and the game continued normally.
I have searched through the documentation and have been unable to find what is needed to make a trainer.
As an experiment I restarted the game and built only a barracks and a battle arena. The barracks completed first (of course) and the battle arena remained unoccupied. I destroyed the barracks and the battle arena became occupied. I rebuild the barracks which required a well and a lime kiln and it remained unoccupied which is what I would expect if I am missing a tool or other resource.
Can someone explain please?

Top Quote
WorldSavior
Avatar
Joined: 2016-10-15, 04:10
Posts: 626
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Saxony, GER
Posted at: 2017-10-27, 18:11

Since there are barracks, trainers are workers now which need a tool: An axe. (In Build19, trainers don't need anything).

Further questions?


*insert phrase about the necessity of saving the world here*

Top Quote
stdh
Avatar
Joined: 2013-08-04, 22:05
Posts: 26
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2017-10-27, 18:27

As far as I understand it, a trainer is only created if there are "idle" weapons in store. So with barracks working, you can only create new trainers after enough soldiers are recruited to fill the stock (desired number of soldiers in warehouses) and the barracks' weapons cache is full. (In my minimum starting conditions, that means new soldiers are only recruited after nine basic armor and weapons are made, unless you adjust the barracks' cache limit.) Should trainer creation have priority over soldiers? Or would it be possible to alternate between the two?


Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1386
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2017-10-27, 18:42

Yes, a babarian trainer needs an ax (and a carrier) AND he is made in a warehouse. You have to reduce the amount of axes in the barracks (and maybe other buildings). So axes are stored in the warehouse and a trainer could be made.

But there is a plan to have 3 trainers in the starting conditions. No one had the time to change the starting conditions yet.


Top Quote
LeightonMan
Avatar
Joined: 2017-05-19, 15:17
Posts: 34
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2017-10-28, 12:33

Thank you all. That explains perfectly. In the game where the battle arena and training camp are unoccupied, I am chronically short of iron and coal so I never create enough axes to satisfy demand... Thanks again


Top Quote
WorldSavior
Avatar
Joined: 2016-10-15, 04:10
Posts: 626
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Saxony, GER
Posted at: 2017-10-28, 12:40

You're welcome. If you have got some further questions, go ahead face-wink.png


*insert phrase about the necessity of saving the world here*

Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1386
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2017-10-28, 13:27

There is a merge proposal now to fix the starting conditions.


Top Quote
Tibor
Joined: 2009-03-23, 23:24
Posts: 1170
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Slovakia
Posted at: 2017-10-28, 20:39

Did you consider an option that a trainer would be created in barracks?


Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1386
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2017-10-28, 21:18

Tibor wrote:

Did you consider an option that a trainer would be created in barracks?

Yes, see the comments from #57 on in this bug


Top Quote
Tibor
Joined: 2009-03-23, 23:24
Posts: 1170
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Slovakia
Posted at: 2017-10-28, 21:38

kaputtnik wrote:

Tibor wrote:

Did you consider an option that a trainer would be created in barracks?

Yes, see the comments from #57 on in this bug

Oh, I see


Top Quote