Donation

Help us to pay our server!
(: Consider a donation :)



Social Media

  • Facebook
  • Google+

Latest Posts

Topic: Global Illumination/Cycles tests

GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 2097
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2017-11-14, 10:09

HendrikL wrote:

I did some tricks to make it work but I was able to use an orthographic camera for the rendering.

If you know any Python, can you adapt innerBuilding.py to fix this?

With the current maximum zoom level the resolution of the headquarters needs to be roughly 512px. But boy does it look nice! So the resolution of the current images needs to be roughly quadrupled, which will increase disk space eightfold, if I did my maths right.

We will need spritemaps to reduce the size

https://code.launchpad.net/~widelands-dev/widelands/spritemaps_testing

The algorithm is still buggy though.

MipMaps would also be good, but we haven't even started on those.

I'll do some more tests and report back with some more images soon. Are the Buildings of the Atlanteans place- holders? Some of the larger buildings look kind of bland compared to the other races. Is there a developed de- sign concept for them? I would expect sort of a mixture of Babylonian and Egyptian architecture with a lot of gardens, waterfalls and the occasional crystal.

We have lost our Elder of Graphics, so I have no idea. Feel free to differentiate them ore as you see fit. They are completely fantasy, so anything that is consistent and looks good is OK.

I couldn't find a file where I could change the scaling of the building overlay images. If there is none please provide one in future builds

I have opened a bug report: https://bugs.launchpad.net/widelands/+bug/1732109

Terrain resolution needs to be 256px to match the current zoom level. The game refuses to load a level with a tileset larger than 64px. I'll report back with that topic once I have some replacements ready.

I have opened a bug report: https://bugs.launchpad.net/widelands/+bug/1732105

The hotspot defined in the init.lua files corresponds to the scaled image, which makes it hard to set it correctly for scaled images. It would prevent a lot of fiddeling in the future to divide the hotspot by the scale internally, I assume.

I have opened a bug report: https://bugs.launchpad.net/widelands/+bug/1732106

Thank you for your hard work and dedication Kind regards Hendrik

Thank you for working on this!


Top Quote
HendrikL
Avatar
Joined: 2017-10-09, 13:07
Posts: 9
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2017-11-15, 09:48

If you know any Python, can you adapt innerBuilding.py to fix this?

So adapt it for global illumination? Yes, I'll do so. Please note, that
all Materials used with Blender Internal render engine will be depreca-
ted and not usable anymore.

My plan is to provide "simple" replacements for those materials which
bring a lot of detail without the need of unwrapping or modifiying the
meshes in any way. Like the ones you saw in the test rendering. The
one-click-solution so to speak.

I prepared a bazaar branch of widelands media with my work in a sep-
parate folder, since it is a completely different render engine. Of course
it is local at the moment. There is a lot of detailed info here on the
site so I'll work out how to publish it to the common project soon. You
guys know the drill with open source projects, stuff happens and people
disappear. I'll leave what I've done with this project. Ideally I can provide
a solution with which you can update stuff with a few clicks without
my help.

Kind regards
Hendrik


Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 2097
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2017-11-16, 07:36

Thanks you so much for working on this!

You can push a branch to launchpad like this:

bzr push lp:~<username>/widelands-media/<branchname>

I recommend that you do so regularly, just to make sure that you have a backup of your work.


Top Quote