Latest Posts

Topic: New Fullscreen Menu Backgrounds

GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 2716
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2016-10-20, 17:39

It has always bothered me that the fullscreen menus become fuzzy on any resolution higher than 800x600, so I fixed the code in a development branch. This means that we need new graphics now that will look good at all resolutions, both classic and wide screen. Unfortunately, the only image that I could find in the media repository is the progress window, which already has some layers merged. We also have the editor background and the splash screen backgrounds, but the "Widelands" writing is also already merged there.

So, what we need is:

  • A background that will be painted across the screen, tileable. This can also have a centered image to overlay on top that is not tiled.
  • A revamp of the leaves in the top edges, non-tileable
  • A revamp of the grass on the bottom, tileable
  • A bigger background picture for the editor, non-tileable
  • Maybe some tweaking of the mill in the progress window
  • The logo in a good-looking version.

In the source code, the images are located in data/images/ui_fsmenu and data/images/loadscreens.

Edited: 2016-10-31, 12:32

Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
Nytren
Avatar
Joined: 2019-02-24, 17:28
Posts: 11
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2019-02-24, 17:36

Hello GunChleoc,

I have some good ideas about a new logo and the backround. so I will dising a logo first.

Dont wonder about my spelling, because iam from Germany.

I have only one question: how do sent it to the Development.


Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 2716
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2019-02-24, 20:07

If you have a Launchpad account, you can attach it to a bug there, then link to it from here.


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
Nytren
Avatar
Joined: 2019-02-24, 17:28
Posts: 11
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2019-02-26, 12:05

No I have not I have now created one but I have no idea how to attach it now.


Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1628
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2019-02-26, 14:28

You have to use an external file/image hoster since we currently do not allow uploads in the forum.


Top Quote
stonerl
Avatar
Joined: 2018-07-30, 00:03
Posts: 146
Ranking
At home in WL-forums
Location: Earth
Posted at: 2019-02-26, 16:10

You could also open a new bug report on Launchpad and attach the file there.


Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 2716
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2019-02-26, 18:50

Go here:

https://bugs.launchpad.net/widelands

Then click on "Report a bug" on the top right.

Attachments are then in the advanced options on the bottom. If you have multiple files, you will need to zip them first, or create multiple replies to the bug - only 1 file allowed per comment.


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
Nytren
Avatar
Joined: 2019-02-24, 17:28
Posts: 11
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2019-02-27, 15:41

I clicked on the link now and I'm on bug report. but below are no advanced options. maybe I'm just blind or stupid. : D

quick update: i have a logo "prototype". if i can send pictures then i will send this in, and then ask for your opinion or ideas


Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 2716
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2019-02-28, 06:25

Here's the bug: https://bugs.launchpad.net/widelands/+bug/1818013

And the logo:

Widelands Logo

Screenshot:

Widelands Logo

If you want to add more images to the bug, there's an "Add attachment of patch" link on the bottom when you add a comment to the bug.

Edited: 2019-02-28, 07:20

Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
hessenfarmer
Avatar
Joined: 2014-12-11, 23:16
Posts: 462
Ranking
Tribe Member
Location: Bavaria
Posted at: 2019-02-28, 08:22

For my taste the bottom of the image is to dark. I appreciate the blue lines but they are to bright for my taste, and I feel like the "W" should have a blue inlay as well. probably in the middle of the letter. If possible the letter should gain a more metallic shine. A darker edge blurring to the inner letter might be nicer as well.


Top Quote