Latest Posts

Topic: Widelands-bzr8128-nomusic-win64.exe install errors on windows10 64bit

unbound
Avatar
Joined: 2016-10-08, 17:36
Posts: 6
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2016-10-08, 18:08

Hi,

I've been checking the site for version 19 quite eagirly.

Yestarday I decided to use an online german to english translator to read the post about the release, gave up waiting, and decided to keep version 18 and install the pre-release Widelands-bzr8128-nomusic-win64.exe.

Problem is, when I run the installation executable, it warns me it cannot write the C:\Program Files (x86)\Widelands\unins000.exe file to the location. If I ignore it, it warns me it cannot do the same for the config file.

I'm running a Windows10 v1607 64bit machine logged in as administrator with the programmer mode activated. The german post I read talked about dropping 32bit support. So why does it try to install stuff at the 32bit programs folder?

thanks and regards, unbound

PS: my mingw-w64 install is kind of messed up and the cygwin64 is not much better, so compiling the source code on this OS is not a task to take lightly.


Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 2714
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2016-10-08, 20:01

The installer doesn't ask for admin privileges. Best uninstall Widelands first, then install the new version somewhere other than Program Files.


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
unbound
Avatar
Joined: 2016-10-08, 17:36
Posts: 6
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2016-10-08, 20:26

Thank you GunChleoc. Problem is: the installer only give options for full, compact and custom installation. Custom installation lets me chose desktop and quick lauch shortcuts. There is no option to change the install directory.


Top Quote
Tino
Joined: 2009-02-20, 17:05
Posts: 250
Ranking
Tribe Member
Location: Somewhere in Germany...
Posted at: 2016-10-08, 21:03

If there is an older widelands installation the installer automatically chooses the existing widelands dir. B18 was 32bit only, my builds are 64bit.

Please do deinstall older versions and then install to e.g. c:\bin\widelands. This way you don't need any elevated privileges during install or running WL later.


Top Quote
unbound
Avatar
Joined: 2016-10-08, 17:36
Posts: 6
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2016-10-08, 21:21

Worked! So nice! Full resolution and all! Thank you!

Gone to play now.


Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 2714
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2016-10-08, 21:38

Excellent face-smile.png


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote