Latest Posts

Topic: Production Sounds

toptopple
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-30, 08:11
Posts: 156
Ranking
At home in WL-forums
Posted at: 2016-06-14, 06:39

I've been working a bit with production sounds. I noticed that production sounds won't play on snow terrain (or perhaps extremely rarely). Is this intended behaviour? I have not tested all terrains but incidentally referring to a single map: Glacier Lake.


Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1523
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2016-06-14, 18:15

I don't know, but couldn't believe it. Do you have an example?

A C++ developer has to look into the code to clarify.


Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 2623
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2016-06-14, 18:32

Buildings have no idea which terrain they're on, so it can't possibly affect their production sounds.

We do have terrain affinity for trees (how well which species will grow), and there are restrictions which buildings can go where in the first place, and which types of terrain can have resources and where fields can be planted, but that's all.


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
toptopple
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-30, 08:11
Posts: 156
Ranking
At home in WL-forums
Posted at: 2016-06-14, 19:56

I can't swear it's because of the terrain! Actually it might NOT be because of the terrain! I have played with latest build (8018), Glacier Lake and the first map of Roman tutorial (Strands). I couldn't hear any production sounds in these games. Playing Romans e.g. you should hear sawmill sounds. I've build sawmills on various terrain in Strands, but there is nothing to hear although all other types of sounds are audible.

In contrast I tested playing "The Far North" and production sounds were in place.

I have savegames, where can I upload them? You can try for yourself without much of an effort.

Edited: 2016-06-14, 20:01
Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 2623
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2016-06-14, 20:40

You can open a new bug on launchpad and attach them there - Launchpad lets you attach 1 file per comment, but you could zip them up or add multiple comments.


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
toptopple
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-30, 08:11
Posts: 156
Ranking
At home in WL-forums
Posted at: 2016-06-15, 10:11

Filed a bug report and attached 4 save games. At my best guess the error could be related somehow to the map format, if that has changed over time.


Top Quote
toptopple
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-30, 08:11
Posts: 156
Ranking
At home in WL-forums
Posted at: 2016-06-16, 21:16

If I had any new production sounds ready, what would be the procedure? Should I use my existing sound branch again or open a new feature?


Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1523
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2016-06-16, 21:50

Because your other branch is already merged it would be good to have a new one face-smile.png


Top Quote