Currently Online

Latest Posts

Topic: New building graphics

DragonAtma
Avatar
Joined: 2014-09-14, 01:54
Posts: 254
Ranking
Tribe Member
Posted at: 2016-01-19, 21:25
So, I have Pov-ray and some skill with it. So why not try whipping up some conscription center graphics?



It's not perfect (in particular, I don't have the stone patterns used for Empire Castle and similar buildings, plus I need to adjust the lighting), but a bit of touching up should make them usable. And assuming these are doable, afterwards I'll start on the barbarians' conscription center, followed by a second tier of wells for everyone.

And, of course, if anyone's interested in the .pov, just let me know; I have no problem sharing it.

Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1523
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2016-01-19, 23:01

Nice face-smile.png

You may find textures in the widelands-media repository. Just ckick on "Browse the code". Take a look at the .blend files, f.e. atlantean buildings

Take also a look into Graphical development face-smile.png


Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 2623
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2016-01-20, 10:59

These are looking good face-smile.png


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
einstein13
Avatar
Joined: 2013-07-29, 00:01
Posts: 1021
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Poland
Posted at: 2016-01-20, 20:45

The graphics looks very nice! But first one is for me a bit confusing: what is this? (maybe too different to Empire castle?). I would prefer more towers (if it is a castle).

Second one: dungeon? If yes- great idea! face-smile.png Mostly "underground" building + some place to train... face-smile.png


einstein13
calculations & maps packages: http://wuatek.no-ip.org/~rak/widelands/

Top Quote
DragonAtma
Avatar
Joined: 2014-09-14, 01:54
Posts: 254
Ranking
Tribe Member
Posted at: 2016-01-21, 00:08
A while back, there was talk about changing where new soldiers come from. All too often the game would create new rookies because there were the tools to do so, and therefore smiths would create new low-level tools because the previous ones were used up making new soldiers. As a result, the smiths that could create stronger tools (letting you train your soldiers to higher levels) were too busy making rookies! It was an even bigger issue for Empire, as the same Helmet would be used both for brand new rookies and for training them from level 0 HP to level 1.

So there was a thread on redoing new soldiers; the general agreement was that each tribe should have a new building to produce soldiers (some suggested names were "conscription center", "recruitment center", and "casern"). There was one problem, though -- no graphics meant no new buildings. But now we have new graphics (or will in the near future), so they can be added.

For reference, the discussion was at https://bugs.launchpad.net/widelands/+bug/1075562 .

Top Quote
einstein13
Avatar
Joined: 2013-07-29, 00:01
Posts: 1021
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Poland
Posted at: 2016-01-21, 01:32

Ok, I remember the discussion now. And the graphics is adequate for that! I like it face-smile.png


einstein13
calculations & maps packages: http://wuatek.no-ip.org/~rak/widelands/

Top Quote
king_of_nowhere
Avatar
Joined: 2014-09-15, 18:35
Posts: 1133
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2016-01-21, 11:09

Yes, I like them. It's exactly what I would expect from a training center.


Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 2623
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2016-01-21, 15:30

I created an experimental branch a while ago that has casern buildings. At the moment, they work like the cattle farms - we still need to discuss how we wish to add the carrier as a cost (what the user interface would look like).

https://code.launchpad.net/~widelands-dev/widelands/casern

This is something we should try to get into Build 20 face-smile.png


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
DragonAtma
Avatar
Joined: 2014-09-14, 01:54
Posts: 254
Ranking
Tribe Member
Posted at: 2016-01-22, 14:08
I imagine that the cost is the equipment needed for new soldiers. The guy running the recruitment center shouldn't need much to hand rookies a couple pieces of equipment and send them on their way.

In the meantime, graphics are done for the Atlantean recruitment center:
http://www.mediafire.com/view/earqvcaab3b57nr/atlantean%20recruitment%20center.png
http://www.mediafire.com/view/r5pe94p4114csya/atlantean%20recruitment%20center%20mask.png

If they need adjusting, let me know.

Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 2623
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2016-01-22, 20:23

Previews look good - I will add them to my branch over the weekend. Please ping me if I forget.


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote