Latest Posts

Topic: Having a grid layer?

kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1648
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2015-12-24, 15:39

I am thinking of a feature that may simplify editing of maps: A grid layer

Having such a layer would be good for for seeing heights on the surface and one could imagine where roads could be placed during game.

What do you think?

Edited: 2015-12-25, 16:51
Top Quote
wl-zocker
Joined: 2011-12-30, 17:37
Posts: 494
Ranking
Tribe Member
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2015-12-24, 16:37

I think this is a good idea (if it can be toggled independantly from other overlays).

I see in your screenshot that some lines are dashed, but most aren't. Do they have a special meaning or not?


"Only few people know how much one has to know in order to know how little one knows." - Werner Heisenberg

Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1648
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2015-12-24, 16:52

wl-zocker wrote:

I think this is a good idea (if it can be toggled independantly from other overlays).

Yes, ability to toggle would be good.

I see in your screenshot that some lines are dashed, but most aren't. Do they have a special meaning or not?

No.... dotted lines are a result of widening the lines, especially if they are not horizontal.

The image is just a mockup, so this is currently not coded...


Top Quote
king_of_nowhere
Avatar
Joined: 2014-09-15, 18:35
Posts: 1169
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2015-12-24, 17:33

why not? as long as it can be toggled in and out.


Top Quote
einstein13
Avatar
Joined: 2013-07-29, 00:01
Posts: 1029
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Poland
Posted at: 2015-12-24, 20:06

Yes, sometimes those lines are needed. But not always face-wink.png So I think that it should be coded as on/off


einstein13
calculations & maps packages: http://wuatek.no-ip.org/~rak/widelands/

Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 2811
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2015-12-25, 13:58

+1 for this feature and to have it with a toggle function. Please create a bug report face-smile.png

Edited: 2015-12-25, 13:58

Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1648
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2015-12-25, 16:46

Bugreport as whishlist


Top Quote