Latest Posts

Topic: Flickering while gameplay

kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1646
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2015-10-25, 09:58

Recentky i notice some flickering on the screen during game play and also in the editor. I am using r7567 in debug mode.

During a game:
If i open the stock inventory (shortcut "i") and just move the mouse pointer over the icons the shadow of trees will flicker (gets bright for a short time). On the bottom left corner is a little area where the fog of war get lifted for a short time. After i have moved the mouse over all wares the flickering does not appear anymore. Then i change to workers tab and the flickering begins again while moving the mouse until i moved over all items.

In Editor: Mostly while clicking the buttons "decrease/increaes" f.e. the in height tools or noise height tool. Depending on the already placed objects on the map the flickering get more less noticed.

Some output from the terminal:

[...]
selected language: en          
No corresponding locale found - trying to set it via LANGUAGE=en, LANG=en
Graphics: Try to set Videomode 1680x1050   
Graphics: OpenGL: Version "3.0 Mesa 11.0.3"
Graphics: OpenGL: Double buffering enabled
Graphics: OpenGL: Max texture size: 16384
**** GRAPHICS REPORT ****       
 VIDEO DRIVER x11                      
 pixel fmt 370546692                   
 size 1680 1050                            
**** END GRAPHICS REPORT ****
Loading the world took 663ms
Font file not found. Falling back to serif: serif
Could not find file: could not find file or directory: i18n/fonts/serif
Loading barbarians took 990ms.
Loading empire took 1060ms.
Loading atlanteans took 733ms.

My computer isn't really up to date (Athlon X2 dual core 5200+), but the game runs with an average fps of 30.

Could someone confirm this? Or should i update my computer face-grin.png

Edited: 2015-10-25, 10:03
Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 2807
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2015-10-25, 12:17

I can confirm this - it happens when I mouse over a ware in the stock window for the first time. If I mouse over the same ware again, no flicker. I guess what happens is that a graphics thingamagog gets updated and redrawn. Could you please open a bug report?

Or maybe it is because my computer is even older than yours face-tongue.png


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1646
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2015-10-25, 12:50

Thanks for looking into this face-smile.png

bug report


Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 2807
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2015-10-25, 12:54

Thanks for reporting face-smile.png


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
QCS
Joined: 2009-12-29, 22:47
Posts: 256
Ranking
Tribe Member
Posted at: 2015-10-28, 17:43

GunChleoc wrote:

I can confirm this - it happens when I mouse over a ware in the stock window for the first time. If I mouse over the same ware again, no flicker. I guess what happens is that a graphics thingamagog gets updated and redrawn. Could you please open a bug report?

Or maybe it is because my computer is even older than yours face-tongue.png

This is also happening on my fairly fast computer face-grin.png


CMake is evil.

Top Quote
kaputtnik
Avatar
Joined: 2013-02-18, 20:48
Posts: 1646
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany
Posted at: 2015-10-28, 18:21

QCS wrote:

This is also happening on my fairly fast computer face-grin.png

I have the "feeling" that some other things gets slower too. But i couldn't describe it exactly ... it's just a feeling face-upset.png

Edited: 2015-10-28, 19:25
Top Quote