Donation

Help us to pay our server!
(: Consider a donation :)



Social Media

  • Facebook
  • Google+

Latest Posts

Topic: Spaced percent sign

Forums » Widelands Development » Translations & Internationalization » Spaced percent sign



MiroslavR
Joined: 2010-10-16, 19:56
Posts: 35
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Location: Slovakia
Posted at: 2015-08-08, 18:19
I suggest to make the productivity labels (both in the building statistics window and production site overlay) translateable. The reason is that percent signs may be spaced in some languages (including the one I'm translating into). However, I've noticed that adding a space in the building statistics window (by changing the source code) seems to break the layout by introducing an unnecessary scrollbar like so:

Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 17:56
Posts: 1784
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Chasing dependencies
Posted at: 2015-08-08, 18:36

We cannot handle spaces in the production site window yet, there isn't enough room.

I plan to revisit these labels once we finally have the new font renderer.


Top Quote
MiroslavR
Joined: 2010-10-16, 19:56
Posts: 35
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Location: Slovakia
Posted at: 2015-08-08, 22:48
Interestingly enough, the text actually does fit if the scrollbar's width is omitted in the effective width calculation.

Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 17:56
Posts: 1784
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Chasing dependencies
Posted at: 2015-08-08, 23:14

I know - I'm not up to fixing that though at the moment. It's a bit too low-level for me.

I had to use Multilinetextarea, because Textarea doesn't have the colours. I think the colours are more important right now than the spaced percent sign or centering the labels.


Top Quote
MiroslavR
Joined: 2010-10-16, 19:56
Posts: 35
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Location: Slovakia
Posted at: 2015-08-09, 14:07

GunChleoc wrote: I think the colours are more important right now than the spaced percent sign or centering the labels.

You can already do that with Textareas. Or am I missing something here? face-smile.png


Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 17:56
Posts: 1784
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Chasing dependencies
Posted at: 2015-08-10, 00:58

I had problems with them at the time when I worked on the branch. I might have missed something though.


Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 17:56
Posts: 1784
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Chasing dependencies
Posted at: 2015-08-12, 13:16

Fixed it:

https://code.launchpad.net/~widelands-dev/widelands/bug-1463829/+merge/267779

The problem was that some colors where hex and some RGB. I had already fixed it and then forgot that this was the original problem face-tongue.png


Top Quote
MiroslavR
Joined: 2010-10-16, 19:56
Posts: 35
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Location: Slovakia
Posted at: 2015-08-12, 18:23

Nice, thanks! Could you also make this string translatable: http://bazaar.launchpad.net/~widelands-dev/widelands/trunk/view/head:/src/logic/productionsite.cc#L320 ?


Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 17:56
Posts: 1784
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Chasing dependencies
Posted at: 2015-09-03, 17:03

Fix is in trunk. I'll make the string translatable in the string-fixes branch.


Top Quote