Currently Online

Latest Posts

Topic: now we really need difficulty levels

king_of_nowhere
Topic Opener
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2015-05-16, 18:24

this idea was triggered by another discussion, but i'm opening another thread to not go offtopic.

ever since i started playing I've been calling for difficulty levels because the AI was too easy. Now, however, I'lll reverse the argument. We'll soon need difficulty levels because the AI is becoming too hard.

It's still nowhere near a match for a skilled player, however not everyone is a skilled player. And in particular, new players are not. The current AI (7454) could already beat a new player without settlers experience aand without much mind for tactics, and I've been told that new improvements are on the way. My fear is that at the current level, the AI will become too difficult for a new player. therefore, a new player will download the game, try to play, get raped by the AI, lose the interest for the game. We'd stop receiving new players. We need an easy mode if we want to keep the game friendly for them, if we want more people to start playing this game.

It wouldn't even be too hard; it would require to deactivate some of the most recent Ai functionalities on easy mode. Alternativelly, my proposal of multiplying all the working times of the AI for a new parameter which is depenent on the difficulty level is still good, although that would require more programming.

Whatever way is chosen, now we really need at least an easy mode. a strong player can always find more challenges by self-inflicted penalties, like making no more than a certain number of farms, or avoiding certin promotions. a weak player cannot find a good challenge if the ai is too difficult for him. A stronger player is unlikely to stop playing for lack of a strong ai, but a weak player is more likely to quit playing if he cannot have fun. and everyone starts as a weak player, so we must avoid scaring them away.

Top Quote