Latest Posts

Topic: Shipcontrols doesn' t work

GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 3324
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2015-02-15, 10:48

We have had some changes in or dependencies since build 18, e.g. we switched from SDL to SDL2. So, this is probably where the problem lies.


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
flipflipsen

Topic Opener
Joined: 2010-01-17, 23:18
Posts: 71
OS: Ubuntu 23.10
Version: 1.1
Ranking
Likes to be here
Posted at: 2015-02-15, 10:56

Something goes wrong I think. I post the last part of the compiling process.

[1498/2013] Linking CXX executable src/scripting/test/test_scripting src/third_party/libthird_party_eris.a(loslib.c.o): In function os_tmpname': /home/piet/ai-enhancements/build/../src/third_party/eris/loslib.c:108: warning: the use oftmpnam' is dangerous, better use `mkstemp' [1656/2013] Building CXX object src/wui/CMakeFiles/wui.dir/itemwaresdisplay.cc.o FAILED: /usr/bin/c++ -g -I../src -Isrc -isystem /usr/include/SDL2 -isystem /usr/include/GL -std=c++11 -fext-numeric-literals -g -DDEBUG -Wall -Wpedantic -Wdeprecated-declarations -Wextra -Wformat -Wformat-nonliteral -Wformat-security -Wformat-y2k -Winit-self -Winvalid-pch -Wlogical-op -Wmissing-include-dirs -Wno-undef -Wold-style-cast -Woverlength-strings -Wpacked -Wpointer-arith -Wredundant-decls -Wshadow -Wsign-promo -Wswitch-default -Wsync-nand -Wtrampolines -Wundef -Wunused -Wunused-macros -Werror=uninitialized -Werror=return-type -MMD -MT src/wui/CMakeFiles/wui.dir/itemwaresdisplay.cc.o -MF "src/wui/CMakeFiles/wui.dir/itemwaresdisplay.cc.o.d" -o src/wui/CMakeFiles/wui.dir/itemwaresdisplay.cc.o -c ../src/wui/itemwaresdisplay.cc virtual memory exhausted: Onvoldoende geheugen beschikbaar [1656/2013] Building CXX object src/wui/CMakeFiles/wui.dir/actionconfirm.cc.o FAILED: /usr/bin/c++ -g -I../src -Isrc -isystem /usr/include/SDL2 -isystem /usr/include/GL -std=c++11 -fext-numeric-literals -g -DDEBUG -Wall -Wpedantic -Wdeprecated-declarations -Wextra -Wformat -Wformat-nonliteral -Wformat-security -Wformat-y2k -Winit-self -Winvalid-pch -Wlogical-op -Wmissing-include-dirs -Wno-undef -Wold-style-cast -Woverlength-strings -Wpacked -Wpointer-arith -Wredundant-decls -Wshadow -Wsign-promo -Wswitch-default -Wsync-nand -Wtrampolines -Wundef -Wunused -Wunused-macros -Werror=uninitialized -Werror=return-type -MMD -MT src/wui/CMakeFiles/wui.dir/actionconfirm.cc.o -MF "src/wui/CMakeFiles/wui.dir/actionconfirm.cc.o.d" -o src/wui/CMakeFiles/wui.dir/actionconfirm.cc.o -c ../src/wui/actionconfirm.cc virtual memory exhausted: Onvoldoende geheugen beschikbaar [1656/2013] Building CXX object src/wui/CMakeFiles/wui.dir/game_message_menu.cc.o FAILED: /usr/bin/c++ -g -I../src -Isrc -isystem /usr/include/SDL2 -isystem /usr/include/GL -std=c++11 -fext-numeric-literals -g -DDEBUG -Wall -Wpedantic -Wdeprecated-declarations -Wextra -Wformat -Wformat-nonliteral -Wformat-security -Wformat-y2k -Winit-self -Winvalid-pch -Wlogical-op -Wmissing-include-dirs -Wno-undef -Wold-style-cast -Woverlength-strings -Wpacked -Wpointer-arith -Wredundant-decls -Wshadow -Wsign-promo -Wswitch-default -Wsync-nand -Wtrampolines -Wundef -Wunused -Wunused-macros -Werror=uninitialized -Werror=return-type -MMD -MT src/wui/CMakeFiles/wui.dir/game_message_menu.cc.o -MF "src/wui/CMakeFiles/wui.dir/game_message_menu.cc.o.d" -o src/wui/CMakeFiles/wui.dir/game_message_menu.cc.o -c ../src/wui/game_message_menu.cc virtual memory exhausted: Onvoldoende geheugen beschikbaar [1656/2013] Building CXX object src/wui/CMakeFiles/wui.dir/building_statistics_menu.cc.o ninja: build stopped: subcommand failed. piet@piet-900X3C-900X3D-900X3E-900X4C-900X4D:~/ai-enhancements$ ./widelands bash: ./widelands: Bestand of map bestaat niet


Top Quote
Tibor

Joined: 2009-03-23, 23:24
Posts: 1377
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Slovakia
Posted at: 2015-02-15, 10:58

GunChleoc wrote:

We have had some changes in or dependencies since build 18, e.g. we switched from SDL to SDL2. So, this is probably where the problem lies.

Oh yes, flipflipsen was not very specific what did not work when he compiled the trunk. If failed compilation was the problem, here is list of packages to install: https://wl.widelands.org/wiki/BuildingWidelands/#ubuntu__debian

I understood that game compiled, run, but functionality was still broken (as expected in trunk)

EDIT: to post chunk of code or just an console output, you can switch to Markup:bbcode and wrap the text to [code] and [/code] marks. But is seems problem are missing packages.

EDIT2: oh, virtual memory exhausted - this looks like a problem, if this is virtual machine just allow more memory to it

Edited: 2015-02-15, 11:05

Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 3324
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2015-02-15, 11:09

Does Widelands need more RAM since Build18?

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/22819934/compiling-phalcon-virtual-memory-exhausted-cannot-allocate-memory

@Tibor: snap face-smile.png

Edited: 2015-02-15, 11:10

Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
Tibor

Joined: 2009-03-23, 23:24
Posts: 1377
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Slovakia
Posted at: 2015-02-15, 11:14

GunChleoc wrote:

Does Widelands need more RAM since Build18?

I think ninja is to blame - it tries to compile in more threads and it exhausts the memory. The most primitive way to avoid this is to uninstall ninja - I think.

cmake compiles in one thread. Can in more but the compile script is not set up that way.


Top Quote
SirVer

Joined: 2009-02-19, 15:18
Posts: 1445
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Germany - Munich
Posted at: 2015-02-15, 11:39

Does Widelands need more RAM since Build18?

Widelands needs less RAM in fact. The compilation might need more. Using only one thread might help: ninja -j1


Top Quote
flipflipsen

Topic Opener
Joined: 2010-01-17, 23:18
Posts: 71
OS: Ubuntu 23.10
Version: 1.1
Ranking
Likes to be here
Posted at: 2015-02-15, 11:42

Hi, I uninstalled ninja, and compiled again. Now I can start Widelands. I loaded a game I saved before were the problem occurs. I quickly checked, and now te shipcontrols work again. Further testing I have to do later today.


Top Quote
GunChleoc
Avatar
Joined: 2013-10-07, 15:56
Posts: 3324
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: RenderedRect
Posted at: 2015-02-15, 12:13

Glad the compiling works now. Thanks for testing!


Busy indexing nil values

Top Quote
Tibor

Joined: 2009-03-23, 23:24
Posts: 1377
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Location: Slovakia
Posted at: 2015-02-15, 21:32

HI,

I just pushed new reviesion, I noticed that AI sometimes builds shipyard and ports too soon and exhausts itself, so I postponed building of them a bit.


Top Quote