Latest Posts

Topic: About Economy options

alocritani

Topic Opener
Ranking
Likes to be here
Posted at: 2011-11-24, 13:42

Hi, first of all I want to underline that I'm completely new to Widelands, and I've never played Settlers I or II, but I've played first two barbarians' tutorial. Build is 16. I've a question regarding "Economy options" window.

At first I thought that you can set the maximum number of stocked wares, for every ware, and I thought that the message, for example, "skipped: not economy needs [something]" confirms my idea.

But than I start noticing that I've a lot more water or wood than the limit I set.

So I got curious and started digging into source code to understand what the limit means.

I've discovered that the limit is only meaningful for a building only if a building's conf file set some clause about that, like the smelting works building about iron. No iron is produced if economy doesn't need iron (ie if the iron is more than the limit).

But also I discovered that most of the buildings doesn't implement this rule but they use another logic: don't build something if the wares you need to build it is needed by economy unless you really need it. In other words: cattlefarm will not "create" oxes if wheat is under the limit and oxes are over the limit. But if oxes are under the limit, the cattlefarm will try to create it even if wheat is lower than the limit.

Finally, only wares that are used in at least one "economy needs [ware]" rules in any conf file are displayed in the economy option.

Another point is, if I understand correctly, that only wares in warehouses are counted when checking "economy needs" rule, so if you are creating the ware far away from the warehouses you can easily thing this ware is under the limit, because it's moving.

Ok, very long post...Finally, the question (remember, I'm a complete noob):