Latest Posts

Topic: 'Eject' goods and workers

pixnaps

Topic Opener
Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2010-01-19, 22:29

It would be very helpful to have an 'eject' option in various places. Three examples:

(1) I have wheat stocked up in the brewery (not being used since the economy doesn't need beer), when I need it more at the bakery, so I 'eject' the stockpiled wheat out of the brewery. Workers then go and take it where it is more needed.

(2) A poor road system got jammed up as multiple flags reach max capacity of stores. Rather than having to destroy the flag and rebuild, an 'eject' option here would simply make the wares disappear.

(3) Most importantly: suppose I have a master miner in a simple coal mine, when I need him over in a deep mine. (Or, a master blacksmith in a metal works when I need him to go fill in the War Mill vacancy.) Rather than destroy + rebuild, I simply 'eject' the overqualified worker. He goes where he's more needed, and a new unskilled worker eventually replaces him in the simple building.

Top Quote
Spiceskull

Ranking
Pry about Widelands
Posted at: 2010-01-20, 18:25

Yeah - I liked the stop intake/empty function in Settlers ... it would be good for consideration in future builds.

Top Quote
silvering

Ranking
Just found this site
Posted at: 2010-02-05, 03:01

good idea

Top Quote
cospaok

Ranking
Just found this site
Posted at: 2010-04-13, 18:38

I just joined the forum to suggest (1) and (3).

As for (2) I would prefer to be able to divert traffic on a less used road even if it's a long way off the destination so I can prevent the jammed flags and loss of wares. And, it would be better still if the game decided which way the wares should travel to avoid jammed flags, provided the player has built alternative routes.

Top Quote
Nasenbaer
Ranking
One Elder of Players
Posted at: 2010-04-13, 19:38